Deus ex frakkingrobotpeople. (Human Revolution part 1)

It’s been a while. I’ve been caught up in other things, and I’m writing away from home on my girlfriend’s British style laptop. What’s the difference between a British laptop and a North American one? Well the “@” key is now above the ‘ key and not the 2, which is where the quotation marks usually sit. They are now above the 2. So basically, quotation marks and @ have switched places. There are probably more differences, but I have yet to find them.

Onto the second order of business, I did say I would be adding more about Just Cause 2. Sadly, I have not gotten in much time because the game really has made no attempt to catch my attention again. The first few missions were cool, but I’d barely figured out how to drive a motorcycle and they dumped me in the middle of the island. At first, I reacted as one would expect in that situation; I instantly headed out and started my revolution by smashing as much stuff as physically possible, which was fun for a while. Another highlight was finding a statue of the guy leading the island nation (Whose name I forget, so we’ll just call him Gaddafi) and tied it to a recently liberated military vehicle and drove off. As it seems, the military’s cars are strong enough to bring down statues of megalomaniac dictators.

Throughout the entire time I couldn’t help but think that the grappling and parachute system would work infinitely better in a much more “massive urban city” type environment. Now I know there is supposed to be a large island capital city in game (or so I’ve been lead to believe) but after a few hours of running randomly, I couldn’t find it.

Anyway, onto my current review.

Deus Ex: Human Revolution!

The one problem I’ve had to far with this game is that I have yet to play it. Being away from home meant I had to send out my top UNATCO agent, Mrmol (not saying much, they let Gunther in after all). My agent failed his mission, getting the regular edition rather then the special edition, and said something about the Netherlands stealing it, so I’m just going to rant about the previous games and the book, from the same series, “Icarus Effect”.

I’ll start with the shortest review. Deus Ex 2; The Invisible War. SCREW YOU. That is all.

Now, onto the first game. I first went into Deus Ex with mixed feelings. I was mainly propelled by the de-motivational you see here.

Needless to say, walking into a game because some random poster on the internet told you to is an AMAZING idea. Once again I was proved right in blindly following the internet’s orders. Deus Ex turned out to be an amazing game that gave me a sense of depth and realism that I still can’t quite put my finger on. As UNATCO agent Mrmol, mentioned above, found out, you can actually get chewed out for running into the woman’s washroom.

Another great part of the game I noticed is that unlike most of the games I see that offer different playstyles, I don’t feel forced into any kind of role. I just fell into the role I wanted to play, and even after taking a several month break from the game I jumped back in where I left off and I was able to easily modify my playstyle.

After falling into a playstyle like that, it was extremely interesting to watch the differences between my and fellow Agent Mrmol’s games. I took on a more stylized approach. Finding hidden vents, hacking and lockpicking, sneaking around (Stealth aug frak yeah!), EMPing or avoiding bots, and fighting melee with the frakking laser sword! On the other hand, Agent Mrmol found his GEP (Guided Explosive Projectile) gun and used it to solve EVERYTHING. Enemy soldiers? GEPgun. Locked door? GEPgun. Need to take down a power generator? GEPGUN! This vastly different playstyles lead to extremely different outcome in our respective games. I’ve never seen a specific type of playstyle change the outcome of a game before. But early on in the game, Agent Mrmol learned that if one is careless with high-explosives when allies are within half a meter of enemies…. it ends badly.

Just when I thought I had figured out why people seem to really like this game, it hit me with one of the most amazing stories I have ever seen. The following does contain spoilers, so if you want to go back and play the first game before starting Human Revolution, don’t read it.

As the game starts, we find ourselves looking up at half the Statue of Liberty, only to find that terrorists of the NSF (National Secessionist Forces) have overrun it and taken your comrade, Gunther Hermann, hostage. I have two stories to tell from this point in. The first will be my own:

After being given a glorified tazer and a hand mounted crossbow, I started sneaking around. The patrols were sparse, and badly armed, so I could easily sneak around them or tranquilize the unavoidable ones with my crossbow. I ended up scaling a wall on the far side of the island with the help of some storage containers. After disarming some bombs in my way and tazing a few guards I was faced with a choice. I could either go up the statue to where the leader of the terrorists was and take him down, completing my mission but leaving my comrade Gunther at their mercy and hoping the Terrorists didn’t decide to shoot him while UNATCO (United Nations Anti-Terrorist COalition) agents storm the base. Alternatively, I could go down a level and free him before taking out the lead terrorist. I decided that the leader could wait and I had to free Gunther. I worked my way down the level, taking down a security camera while I was at it. After crawling through a few airvents I found the cell Gunther was being held in. After freeing him, he decided he was ready to join the fight himself and asked me for a weapon. Not being one to say no to a 6 foot tall German who is more machine than

I'm not screwing with this guy

man, I gave him my sidearm (I wasn’t really using it anyway) and he proceeded to clear out every enemy on the floor himself. One simple walk back up the stairs later I found the leader of these terrorists, who promptly surrendered without incident.

By the time the troopers had taken my prisoner to his cell, the rest of the NSF had been either killed fighting or captured themselves. I went down to our UNATCO headquarters (conveniently located on the island that was attacked) and met some of my coworkers. I was even given my pay and some gear from a guy with an armory full of boxes (who complimented me on not shotgunning people in the face).

Alternately on Agent Mrmol’s side:

Land on island

Get GEP gun

Shoot everything with GEP gun

Break in the front door

Forget about Hermann

That’s just an example of the vast differences in playstyle that Deus Ex allows. All this, and the game was never actually finished. It was rushed ahead and a lot of planned features (such as being able to have a female Denton [The name JC was made to be unisex for that purpose] and even side with UNATCO and Majestic 12) were scrapped.

I could go on about this game for a while, but it’s time to move onto my last thing here.

Deus Ex: Icarus Effect

I would be lying if I said I didn’t go into the new Deus Ex and its prequel of a prequel book, Icarus Effect, with a bit of apprehension. A prequel that was written and developed by a completely different company usually ends with massive continuity errors and plotholes so big you’ll fall through them if you’re not careful. Luckily, Icarus Effect doesn’t actually screw it up too badly. And where it does screw things up, it explains.

It even has Hermann!

My biggest problem with the new stuff is the imperial frakton of mech augs running around. In the original Deus Ex the number of mech augs could be counted on one hand (Anna, Gunther, General Carter. See? Also Page and Simons were nanoaugs, not mechs) but in Icarus Effect (and so I’m told Human Revolution) they are everywhere. (Spoilertime) At the end of Icarus Effect this is explained with the Illuminati significantly setting back human augmentation for their own ends.

The book itself was well written. The characters were good, the augment fight scenes had me on the edge of my seat, and the use of ingame weapons and augs leaves me rather excited to try them ingame. The book also left me with a rather heavy urge to punch Barrett in the face. Repeatedly. With that aug-sword. Yeah he’s a jerk. The only real thing I hope for is some sort of appearance of the two main characters, Ben Saxon and Anna Kelso, in the game. After talking with Mrmol who’s been playing it, I may not get that.

Still a good experience overall, and I look forward to writing about the game once I get into it.

About zarrotechgeek

An 18 year old Canadian high school student that likes to rant about things.

Posted on September 2, 2011, in Videogames. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

